Crashing and continuing…

Had a serious crash Thursday night. First one in 25 years. Lights on at dusk, riding solo and feeling stronger than ever, I awoke clammy, shaking and confused. Paramedics told me to be still. They pulled Duct tape over my temple and legs to better hold me on a body board. They cut away my red, white and blue Brooklyn chewing gum jersey, my bibs and arm warmers. They inserted IVs and took vital signs. I didn’t move my head or open an eye. I was in shock. 

I’ve yet to see the full police report (set for Tuesday) or speak to anyone who dialed 911. I will be thanking them soon.

I owe a huge debt of gratitude to Dr. Jonathon Wilensky, a plastic surgeon who was on call for another trauma case when I was airlifted to Palomar Medical Center. Dr. Wilensky spent about 4 hours (12 a.m. to 4 a.m.) stitching my right ear back together, as well as my mouth and cheek. I can’t address dental issues until next week.

Giro, the helmet maker, deserves a huge thanks as well. Without the Giro Atmos helmet, I would not be posting this blog. 

I start riding the trainer as early as Friday (with medical clearance). I’ve logged more than 35,000 miles (many of them solo efforts through mountain passes) the last 4+ years. This first serious cycling accident doesn’t change how I feel about the sport. We have to be as safe as we can — and trust that others will do the same.

Leave a Reply

