Heart beats just right, legs strong…

Rode the trainer in the garage this morning. Everything works just fine. Pulse climbed to normal training rates. Sweated out a week of nightmare — from the pain medications to the drugs that put me to sleep during procedures and surgery.

During the hour-long spin I realized how lucky I am to have:

  • Worn a helmet
  • Only crushed my teeth and not my tongue
  • Been found quickly by alert people
  • Not been run over by a vehicle after hitting I hit the deck
  • My right ear
  • Only minor soreness in my right shoulder
  • No broken any limbs
  • My life and ability to be with my family

During the spin, I tried to think of possible ways someone could have seen something. It’s a high-speed rural area with large property lots and homes set back from the noisy road. Doubt anyone sitting on the couch would be able to add much. 

Then I realized: Security cameras on Daniel’s Market West. One camera points to store’s parking lot and part of Highway 67. I think there is more of them mounted on the store’s roof. Could the telephone call about a Ford Excursion be verified by still photos or live video feed? Or even the accident?  

Today I hope to meet with the corporate folks for the grocery store in town and ask about angles and frequency of fotage the cameras take. My blood stains are some 100 yards shy of the entrance to the store’s parking lot. I’ve ordered the official accident report from the California Highway Patrol so I can learn the precise time of 911 call.

Here’s map with my best estimation of impact point. Click to enlarge.

map-of-scene.jpg

Leave a Reply

