Astana kit, local boy who made it…

Short ride today, backdoor from Poway up under Ramona. Wind drilling me in my face, I pulled to the side for a moment to adjust things, if you know what I mean.

Ahem. 

Across the roadway, there went Chris Horner, in full Astana kit, stretched out in his signature position on the hoods. I knew he had relocated to San Diego recently from Bend, Oregon, but I didn’t think I’d happen across his two-wheeled path. Chris is a Lemon Grove guy who finally made it to the bigs, first to Lotto, and now with Astana, the strongest team in the pro peloton.

You couldn’t meet a nicer guy. And there was no way I would ever catch him.

While I didn’t get to ride with Chris, I’ll be pulling for him at the Tour of California. He’s one of America’s best road racers who’s lived in the shadows of Lance, George, Freddy and Levi. 

Watch for him at the TDF this year. Incredible domestique who understands tactics.

One thought on “Astana kit, local boy who made it…

Leave a Reply

